To date, Cormac McCarthy has published ten novels. In order of publication, these are:

In addition, McCarthy has published two screenplays and two plays:

He is also known to be the author of three as-yet unpublished screenplays:

  • Whales and Men (n.d.)
  • Cities of the Plain (1984)
  • No Country for Old Men (n.d., but “began as a screenplay in 1984”[2])

The first two of these are housed at the Albert B. Alkek Library, Texas State University, as part of the Southwestern Writers Collection.

In January of 2008, the Collection acquired Cormac McCarthy’s papers. For more information about the Collection’s McCarthy holdings, click here. Please note that access to these materials is strictly controlled and that photocopies of these two works are prohibited without written permission from the author. Direct requests for access to:

Albert B. Alkek Library
Texas State University
601 University Drive
San Marcos, Texas 78666-4604
(512) 245-2313

Other works by McCarthy include two short stories:

  • “Wake for Susan” (1959)
  • “A Drowning Incident” (1960)

These two early short stories were published while McCarthy was still in college: “Wake for Susan” by C. J. McCarthy, Jr. appeared in The Phoenix, October 1959, pp. 3-6, and “A Drowning Incident” by C. J. McCarthy appeared in the The Phoenix, March 1960, pp. 3-4. They can be obtained through interlibrary loan from The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. The serial title is located in the University Archives with the call number of LH1.T2P3.

Both “Wake for Susan” and “A Drowning Incident” were included in the 50th Anniversary Edition of The Phoenix [PDF], published as the Spring 2010 issue.

Footnotes    (↵ returns to text)

  1. Dates ascribed to works throughout this Web site refer to year of first publication. Compositions dates were, in many cases, much earlier. For many of these works, the precise dates of composition are unknown.
  2. Blaschke, Jayme. “The Southwestern Writers Collection Acquires Cormac McCarthy Papers.” University News Service. Texas State U San Marcos. 10 Jan. 2008. 11 Jul. 2011. Web.